Neil Young announces live concert film Return To Greendale

reverb | All Things Guitar

Neil Young

Neil Young has announced Return To Greendale, a live album and concert film that documents the 2003 tour in support of his 25th studio album Greendale.

A release states: “the songs and performance remain topical as ever, powered by themes of environmentalism, corruption, and the destructive effects of capitalism. Featuring Young’s trusty partners Crazy Horse, the Toronto recording captures the epic experience of Young’s immersive, small-town rock opera. The multimedia exploit seamlessly blended Young’s powerful lyrics and Crazy Horse’s heavy blues thrash with musical theatre, as actors joined the band onstage to play out Greendale’s narrative as it unfolded. Like Greendale itself, the show eschews elaborate production in favour of a ragged and rough-hewn feel that does right by its source material.”

The album and film arrive in several formats. Its limited-edition deluxe box set includes the Blu-ray of the full concert, along with two LPs and two CDs, and a DVD of Inside Greendale, a film that documents the making of the album.

The release will also be available separately on double vinyl, a two-CD set, and digitally on Neil Young Archives (NYA) and other platforms.

Inside Greendale features footage of Young and Crazy Horse in the studio, mixed with segments from 2003’s Greendale fictional film. Both Inside Greendale and the concert film are directed by Bernard Shakey and produced by L.A. Johnson.

The tracklisting for the film/album is below.

1. Falling from Above
2. Double E
3. Devil’s Sidewalk
4. Leave the Driving
5. Carmichael
6. Bandit
7. Grandpa’s Interview
8. Bringin’ Down Dinner
9. Sun Green
10. Be the Rain

For more music news, click here.

The post Neil Young announces live concert film Return To Greendale appeared first on | All Things Guitar.

Read More
This article is from an external source and may contain external links not controlled by Empeda Music.

Back to News

Leave a Reply